The 2017 Tour de France was the 104th edition of the most famous bicycle race in the world.

The 21-stage race took place 1st July to 23rd July 2017, and started in Dusseldorf, Germany and finished on the customary Champs-Elysees, Paris.

The race covered a total distance of 3,540kms (2,200mls). There were two Time Trial events, eight flat events (for the Sprinters), six medium mountain stages and five high mountain / summit stages.

A total of 198 riders from 22 teams started the race, 18 World Teams and 4 Pro Continental Teams (3 French & 1 Belgium) were invited to take part, with each team consisting of 9 riders per team.

49 riders were competing in their first TdF with the riders coming from 32 different countries.

A total of 167 riders managed to finish the 2017 Tour de France.

Chris Froome (Team Sky) was seen many to be the outstanding favourite, to wear the Yellow Jersey. His closest rivals were, Richie Porte (BMC Racing Team); Nairo Quintana (Movistar Team); Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) and Fabio Aru (Astana).

Froome had won the 2013, 2015 and 2016 editions of the Tour, however, he had not won a €race in 2017 prior to the Tours start. His best result was 4th overall at the Criterium du Dauphine, a race normally used as a warmup race for the TdF. Despite his poor showing in the warm up races, he was thought to have one of the strongest teams (Team Sky) around him.

Both Richie Porte and Nairo Quintana, had both scored major successes in races during the early part of the season.

Mark Cavendish (Team Dimension Data) was considered to be one of the favourites for the point’s classification. However, he had to abandon after crashing in to the barriers at the finish on Stage 4.

Peter Sagan basically pushed Cavendish into the barriers as they were sprinting for the finish. Sagan was subsequently disqualified.

The opening stages of the race (Grand Depart) had been scheduled for London, however, just before this was to be announced (July 2015), the then Mayor of London, Boris Johnson, instructed Transport for London to pull out of the bid. Consequently, the first races were moved to Dusseldorf.

Despite not winning a Stage, Chris Froome managed to take the Yellow Jersey in a total time of 86hrs 20mins 55sec, with Rigoberto Uran (Cannondale-Drapac) some 54sec behind in second place.

Luke Rowe (Team Sky) was the “Lantern Rouge” (Last Man Home) some 4hrs 35mins 52secs behind his Sky team mate Chris Froome.

The total amount of Prize Money awarded was €2,280,950, with €500,000 going to the winner, with €200,000 to second place and €100,000 to third spot.

Michael Mathews won the Points Classification (Green Jersey) (€25,000) and the Best Young Rider was Simon Yates (€20,000).

Overall, a good clean Tour, plenty of exciting riding, no serious injuries and no incidences of doping.

We use cookies to help deliver the best experience on our website. By using our website, you agree to the use of cookies.

Privacy policy

Pin It on Pinterest